Book Review

P.S. I Like You Book Review

So you know that feeling when Sarah J Maas gives you hope of a happy ending only to stomp on your dreams in spiky, black stilettos? Or when Leigh Bardugo offers you so many ships that you’re ready for your armada to set sail and then you watch her fire flaming arrows at them as they journey off into the sunset? I’m talking emotional distress, random bouts of weeping. Yes, I’m talking about a book hangover.

After traversing such literary peaks and valleys, you just want one freaking happy ending. Am I right? Just one!

Well, I give you P.S. I Like You by Kasie West.

Now, I will have you know that I’m not big on YA contemporaries. For the most part I turn one over and see the following plotline: Jane just broke up with her long-standing boyfriend of one year. Now what is she going to do with her summer? Will she spend it with Nate, the too-hot-to-handle lifeguard? Or Rich, the cute barista that seems to know just how to make Jane laugh? (Man, I could write one of these…*considers future*)

Sidenote: I say this but then my caveat is that good writing is good writing, and I have fallen for plot lines that I typically loathe because the writing was just too good to turn away.

Okay, back to my point! I normally don’t go for YA contemporaries. So when my monthly Owlcrate and Uppercase subscription boxes BOTH send me this new release, P.S. I Like You, I had to give it a try.

Holy happy endings Batman! I wanted something light and breezy, and maybe I even wanted a little teen drama to help me with my recent book hangovers! Well, I got it!

In Kasie West’s newly-released novel, we meet Lily, a secret songwriter who is enduring high school one day at a time, with help of her best friend, Isabel. Chemistry is Lily’s most boring subject, so when she starts doodling her favorite band’s lyrics on her desk, and someone fills in the next line, Lily quickly finds herself an anonymous penpal who has the potential to make things so much better, if only she knew who it was.

Muahaha! I know who it is, but I won’t tell you. You’ll just have to give Kasie West’s new release a try and see if it works as a balm to your book hangover too!

Let me know how you like it!

It got 4.5 out of 5 bright and shining stars from me!

 

Leave a Reply

